Sunday, October 1, 2023

Poland bans vehicles registered in Russia on its territory | War in Ukraine

Poland on Sunday began implementing a European Union (EU) measure aimed at banning all Russian-registered personal cars attempting to enter the country from entering the country. It is the latest in a series of sanctions against Russia that serve as punishment for its invasion of Ukraine.

According to the EU decision, vehicles registered in Russia will no longer be able to enter the territory of its 27 members.

A car registered in Russia cannot enter PolandPolish Interior Minister Mariusz Kaminski said Saturday when announcing the ban that came into effect a few hours later, at midnight.

This is another element of the sanctions imposed on Russia and its citizens in connection with the brutal war in Ukraine, since the Russian state today represents a threat to international security.

The measure comes just days after the Baltic countries Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia banned vehicles registered in Russia from entering their territory, a joint decision consistent with a recent interpretation of EU sanctions against Moscow.

Read Also:  Who, Amin Maalouf or Jean-Christophe Rufin, will be chosen to lead the institution?

Poland and the Baltic countries are among the staunchest European critics of Russia and the country’s president, Vladimir Putin.

On Tuesday, Dmitry Medvedev, vice president of the Russian Security Council chaired by Putin, denounced the European Commission’s decision, calling it racist. He suggested Moscow could retaliate by suspending diplomatic ties with the EU and withdrawing its diplomats from Brussels.

Poland shares a land border with the Russian territory of Kaliningrad, an enclave separated from the rest of Russia. The border guard agency said the ban will be the same regardless of which border vehicles attempt to cross.

Read Also:  Regeneration of thousands of hectares of forest compromised by the fires in Quebec

In addition to Kaliningrad, Poland has Belarus and Ukraine on its eastern borders. In addition, the country borders EU and NATO allies Germany, Slovakia, the Czech Republic and Lithuania, where there are no border controls.

The border guard website states that cars registered in Russia They will be returned to the third country from which they came, whether Russia or another country. These actions will be carried out even if the driver of the vehicle is not a citizen of the Russian Federation..

Home of the widget. Skip widget?End of widget. Return to the start of the widget?

Read Also:  Russia says it sent planes to intercept drones over the Black Sea
Times of National
Times of National
Times of National To give more information about the latest happenings, news related to happenings in the country and abroad a casual understanding of the latest technology products and gadgets, celebrity news and gossip, latest movie news, sports, and cricket scores all you need Always ready to fulfill whatever else is becoming a part of our life nowadays.
Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here